Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of Hardly Revolutionary

Hardly Revolutionary Conversations Ep 1 ft. Muse

performance, ritual, and release with Muse

One of my favorite parts of working as a writer is meeting and interviewing artists, designers, and creatives. I knew I’d eventually want to bring this aspect of my work to Hardly Revolutionary and I’m happy to say it’s finally here.

I met Muse through Jazmine, my friend and the founder of Sustainable Baddie (the publication I work for). About a year ago, I interviewed Muse for the first time, though the interview never came to fruition. Still, I enjoyed our conversation immensely, and I found her work and visual representations of life and humanity deeply resonant on a creative-spiritual level. When I saw she was visiting New York, I knew I wanted to speak with her again.

works by Muse

Muse is a Mexican-American performance and visual artist from Chula Vista, California, whose work explores “the human psyche as a vessel through which to understand and accept humanity as a whole.” In February of this year, she held her first gallery exhibition, and released a zine of the same title, “Distorted Thoughts”. She lives in San Diego, near the beach, and water, and the elements are huge symbols in her work. It only felt right for us to speak to each other in the sand, near the shore.

When I first came across Muse’s work, she stood out to me for the way she styles and manipulates garments to reflect our spirit and emotions. Her upcycling process involves methods like month-long deterioration processes, using the body as a tool for communicating fashion, and creating narratives about the human psyche through clothing and imagery, all while maintaining an air of high fashion by using the resources she has available to her. Since the last time we spoke, I’ve seen her work become more and more experimental, human, and her.

In this interview, I ask Muse about her earthly and spiritual inspirations, the art scene in San Diego, AI in art, and so much more.

About Hardly Revolutionary Conversations…

I love podcasts and interviews, but I want these interviews to feel a little different than the ones I usually consume. I want to host a conversation, but more than anything I want you to meet these incredible creatives in the way that I too am meeting them for the first time, really, through an interview. Plus, this isn’t really about me, this is about art. This is what Hardly Revolutionary Conversations is about; meeting an artist for the first time. Sometimes a first encounter is full of small talk, other times, you meet someone you connect with on a soul level, and in one moment you learn more about them than you thought you ever would.

The full half-hour long interview is available below for paid subscribers. Thank you!

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to Hardly Revolutionary to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

Hardly Revolutionary
Hardly Revolutionary
Authors
natasha
Recent Posts